Can the “share” button be removed?
I am not keen on the idea that somebody could retweet my answers, or share them to their Facebook page
Even if the share button is removed, someone could easily copy the URL to a thread and share it with someone. There doesn’t appear to be a membership wall of any kind. When I’m not logged in, I can see the same posts as when I am logged in. It’s why I’ve been so quiet here.
@SeekingPerspective Yes, anyone can see the forum, and users should take that into account when participating. I preferred the closed format of the old forum, but that’s not a dealbreaker to me.
The “share” button goes even beyond tha issue,, since it is available for individual responses to a thread. Copying the URL will get someone to the thread in its entirety, and any answers will be seen in the context of the question and the other responses as well. It’s not my own individual reply being singled out and shared outside the context of the forum.
I did try sharing one of my own posts to Facebook, with the privacy of the FB post set to “only me” and it doesn’t appear to be functioning correctly anyhow. It gave the title “Can the share button be removed” and below it listed the text to a response from another thread entirely. Then when I hit the share button, it prompted me to close the page. When I chose not to close the page, the whole thing malfunctioned.